Welcome Guest    |    Login
Fact Sheet


Switzerland is a federal republic consisting of 26 states named cantons, with Bern as the seat of the federal authorities. The country is situated in Western Europe where it is bordered by Germany to the north, France to the west, Italy to the south and Austria and Liechtenstein to the east.


Switzerland’s weather is influenced by the four main European air currents - from the Atlantic, the eastern continent, the northern sub-polar region and the Mediterranean south. The climate is temperate on the Central Plateau; otherwise it differs considerably from region to region. 

Reaching There

Train: Switzerland can be reached by fast reliable inter-European rail services from at least a dozen countries.

Road: Switzerland is linked to Europe's extensive motorway network.

Air: Swiss International Air Lines is the national carrier of Switzerland serving 70 worldwide destinations in 42 countries from its home hub in Zurich, and from Basel and Geneva international airports.