Welcome Guest    |    Login
 Image for History Goa was a part of the Mauryan Empire in the 3 rd century BC. Later, the Satvahanas of Kolhapur, the Bhojas , the Chalukyas of Badami, the Silharas, Gulhalla Deva of the Kadambas, Jayakeshi-I, Chalukyas of Kalyani, Yadavas of Devgiri, the Bhamani Sultans, Madhav Mantri of Vijaynagar, Bahamani Vizier Khwaja Mohammed Gawan of Gulbarga, Yusuf Adil Shah ruled Goa until the region was conquered by Afonso de Albuquerque, a Portuguese.

The Portuguese ruled for 450 years. On December 19, 1961 Indian troops took control of Goa. It was a Union Territory of the Indian Union for 26 years and in May 1987 it attained its statehood.